From Synfig Studio :: Documentation
ControlS: Saves the current document.
Use this command to save the current document to disk. If your document is not currently saved (it is saved for the first time) you'll be prompted with a Save As dialog, otherwise the command will save the file with the the same name it has (overwrite).
See Automatic Back up interval in the Setup Dialog.